My venture into DIY laundry detergent…

My venture into DIY laundry detergent…

  • You guys. It finally happened. My beloved Young Living Thieves laundry detergent ran out. Gone. Zilch. Nada. And I have a confession. It ran out 4 months ago. And I caved and went and bought Arm and Hammer detergent and…and…and… my cloth diapers HATE it. So I switched to Tide. And they STILL hated it. Also, my son started breaking out in hives. AGAIN! (YAY for super sensitive skin, NOT!) Anyway, lesson learned, I finally added another bottle of my trusty Thieves laundry detergent to my monthly Young Living subscription box, which, if you haven’t checked out yet, YOU SHOULD! (side note: Anyone else have an addiction to subby boxes?? No?? Just me?? Alrighty then!) In the mean time, I needed a “clean” detergent option so I decided to wade into the intimidating world of DIY laundry detergent, and let me just say, #mindblown!!! I can honestly say, SUCCESS! First of all, let’s talk about how Lavender and Tangerine essential oil is a match made in heaven and my clothes seriously smell the yummiest, EVER. So easy to make, I couldn’t believe it! So far I have been using this for 3 weeks now, and I’ve washed everything from stinky, dirty cloth diapers, AND a load of nasty, wet clothes from 3 days ago when the kids played out in the rain that I totally forgot to throw it in the washer. I am extremely pleased with the results, and that’s a lot coming from this cloth-diapering mama of 5! This recipe is seriously, SUPER DUPER EASY (I found it on Pinterest, and followed the link to this blog) and took 5 minutes to mix up, and it’s borax free!!   The recipe is as follows:
  • 1/4 C. Super washing soda
  • 1/4 C. Baking soda
  • 6 Tbsp. Liquid Castille soap (I used Dr. Bronner’s Baby Mild Unscented from Amazon)
  • 20 drops of essential oil of choice

    13950999_10208104101453596_374356996_oFor this recipe I used Lavender and Tangerine because I loved the smell! Our family only uses Young Living essential oils exclusively because they are the only company with a seed to seal guarantee so I have peace of mind about no chemical additives. (If you’re curious about how to snag Young Living oils, click here!) So, grab your gallon sized container (I used a glass pitcher at first, but then dumped the remainder or my Arm and Hammer stuff and poured my mix in there) and a long spoon to mix with. Pour in your super washing soda and cover it with hot tap water, mix until it is dissolved. Once it is dissolved, add in your other ingredients except for your essential oils, then fill up your jug with hot tap water and stir it up. Lastly, add in your drops of EO, close your bottle and give it a shake and BAM! You are good to go! I have an HE front loader and use about half a capful (about 1/3 of a cup) for each regular load. Make sure to give a shake before you pour as some of the ingredients will settle to the bottom. Now enjoy your homemade detergent and peace of mind! Leave me some feedback below and let me know how you liked it, and if it worked for you as well as it did for me.

    Xoxo,

    Tammy

 

2 thoughts on “My venture into DIY laundry detergent…

Leave a Reply

